How to Start a Tattoo or Body Piercing Studio in Oklahoma: OSDH Licenses ($1,000 Shop, $250 Artist)
How to Start a Tattoo or Body Piercing Studio in Oklahoma: OSDH Licenses ($1,000 Shop, $250 Artist)
An Oklahoma tattoo license is issued by the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) Consumer Health Service, not by your city. The same program licenses body piercing establishments and the artists who work in them. Before you apply, though, your studio needs a legal business underneath the health license: an entity filed with the Oklahoma Secretary of State, a sales tax permit if you sell products, and whatever city or county permits your address requires. This guide puts those pieces in the order you will usually need them.
Tattoo and body piercing licensing falls under 21 O.S. 842.1 et seq. and the rules in OAC 310:233. Read those rules yourself. This article summarizes them and does not replace them.
Disclaimer: This article is informational content, not legal or tax advice. Confirm every fee and requirement with the agency named before you file. If your situation is complex, such as partners, multiple locations, employees, or buying a building, talk with a qualified Oklahoma attorney and a certified public accountant (CPA).
License Fees at a Glance
The two fees most owners focus on are the $1,000 tattoo establishment application and the $250 artist license. Use this table to plan your budget. Fees marked “check with OSDH” must be confirmed directly with the agency.
| License or application | Fee | Who needs it |
|---|---|---|
| Tattoo establishment | $1,000 | A shop that performs tattooing |
| Body piercing establishment | $500 | A shop that performs body piercing |
| Artist license | $250 | Each tattoo or piercing artist |
| Apprentice (student) application | $250 | Each person training under a sponsor |
| Temporary event, artist | $50 | An artist working a temporary event |
| Temporary event, establishment | $500 | A temporary tattoo or piercing site |
| Artist renewal | Check with OSDH | Every licensed artist |
| Skills exam | Check with OSDH | Applicants who must test |
Materials and Documents You Will Need
Gather these before you start the OSDH application. Your list will grow once you read OAC 310:233, but these are the core items:
- Articles of Organization ($100) for an LLC, or a Certificate of Incorporation ($50 minimum) for a corporation
- Proof that a notice was published in a local newspaper, showing your proposed business address
- A signed affidavit of lawful presence (use the form and wording OSDH provides)
- For each artist: proof of age (18 or older), a bloodborne pathogen certificate, and first aid and CPR certificates
- For each artist: either proof of an approved apprenticeship or proof of two years of licensure issued by another governmental entity
- For each apprentice: the same certificates, plus a department-approved sponsor and a plan to complete 1,500 hours of curriculum
- A confirmed street address, and a signed lease if you rent
- A registered agent with a physical Oklahoma street address
- A sales tax permit ($20 for 3 years) if you sell jewelry, aftercare products or merchandise
- Your equipment and sanitation supply list, checked line by line against OAC 310:233
Step 1: Form Your Business Entity With the Secretary of State
Most studio owners form a limited liability company (LLC). File Articles of Organization with the Oklahoma Secretary of State Business Filing Department for $100. You can start at the Secretary of State business page. The Secretary of State publishes no processing-time guarantee. Documents are handled in the order received, and in-person filings must arrive before 4:30 p.m. Central. Same-day service costs $50 per document and is available only for documents presented in person. Online turnaround is not published, so call the Business Filing office at 405-522-2520 to confirm current timing before you plan your opening date.
Your LLC name must contain “limited liability company,” “limited company,” “LLC,” “LC,” “L.L.C.” or “L.C.” The words “limited” and “company” may be shortened to “Ltd.” and “Co.” The name must also be distinguishable from other entity, trade and reserved names on file, current or within the last 3 years. Search the Oklahoma business search before you commit to a name, since the Secretary of State will reject a filing that conflicts. If you need time, you can reserve a name for $10 for 60 days at the name availability page.
Plan for the recurring cost. The LLC Annual Certificate costs $25 and is due on the anniversary of your Articles of Organization. You get a 60-day grace period. The statute sets no late fee, but an LLC that misses the 60 days stops being in good standing, and reinstatement requires filing every delinquent annual certificate. Oklahoma has no franchise tax for tax year 2024 and later, so the $25 certificate is the only recurring state filing cost for an LLC.
Every LLC must keep a registered agent with a physical Oklahoma street address (no PO box) that is open during business hours to accept legal papers. The agent can be you, an Oklahoma resident, or a qualifying business. Changing the agent or office costs $25. If the Secretary of State acts as your agent, a $40 annual agent fee may apply, so confirm with the Secretary of State whether it applies to your LLC.
A corporation works too. A Certificate of Incorporation costs one-tenth of one percent of authorized capital stock, with a $50 minimum. Domestic for-profit corporations file no annual certificate with the Secretary of State. Either entity type satisfies the OSDH requirement for articles of incorporation or organization.
Step 2: File a Trade Name Report If You Will Use a Different Name
If the name on your sign differs from your legal entity name, file a Trade Name Report. It costs $25 and is filed with the Secretary of State, not the county clerk. No newspaper publication is required for a trade name, and there is no annual fee. Amendments, transfers and withdrawals also cost $25. Filing forms are at the Secretary of State filing page.
Step 3: Lock Your Address, Then Publish the Notice
Your OSDH application requires proof that a notice was published in a local newspaper showing your proposed business address. The newspaper rules, the required wording and how long the notice must run are not stated here. Ask OSDH before you buy space in a paper. Do not publish until the address is final. A notice printed for the wrong suite means you may have to pay again for a corrected notice.
Step 4: Confirm Local Permits and Zoning Before You Sign a Lease
Oklahoma has no general state business license. The state does not license your business activity as a whole. Your city, however, may add its own requirements:
- A minority of Oklahoma cities charge a general or occupational license. Examples include Bartlesville, Yukon, Sapulpa, Bixby, Tahlequah and Mustang.
- Oklahoma City, Tulsa and Lawton do not charge a general business license. They license only specific activity types, so ask whether they license tattoo or piercing activity.
- Counties issue no business licenses. Only Oklahoma County and Tulsa County run zoning and building permits in unincorporated areas, so most shops deal with their city instead.
Ask the city planning or zoning office three questions before you sign a lease: whether a tattoo or piercing shop is permitted at that address, whether the city has its own license for the activity, and what permits any remodel requires. City rules vary widely, so check with the city in writing for your exact address.
Step 5: Register for a Sales Tax Permit
Register through the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) on OkTAP at the OkTAP business registration page. A sales tax permit costs $20 for 3 years. The state rate is 4.5%, and the OTC collects city and county sales tax on the same return, so combined rates run from about 8.25% to above 10%, depending on location. Register with the OTC too if you will withhold tax from employee pay.
Ask the OTC which of your sales are taxable. Piercing jewelry, aftercare kits and merchandise are common retail items, and service charges may be treated differently. Confirm the treatment of each product line with the OTC before you set your prices.
Step 6: License Every Artist Before They Work
Every tattoo or piercing artist in your shop needs an artist license, which costs $250. To apply, the artist must be 18 or older and provide:
- A bloodborne pathogen certificate
- First aid and CPR certificates
- Proof of either an approved apprenticeship or two years of licensure issued by another governmental entity
Renewal fees and the timing of renewals are set by OSDH, so check with OSDH before you build a renewal calendar. Keep copies of each artist's certificates on file at the shop, since the inspector may ask to see them.
New artists who need training apply for an apprentice (student) license for $250. An apprentice must be 18 or older, hold the same certificates, and complete 1,500 hours of curriculum with a department-approved sponsor. The curriculum covers microbiology, sanitation, safety, bloodborne pathogens, professional standards and procedures. Confirm sponsor limits, how many apprentices one artist may sponsor, and the skills exam fee with OSDH before you schedule training.
Step 7: File the Establishment Application
The establishment application is the core filing. It costs $1,000 for a tattoo establishment and $500 for a body piercing establishment. Apply through the OSDH licensing portal. Your application package must include:
- Your articles of incorporation or articles of organization
- Proof of the newspaper notice showing your proposed business address
- Your affidavit of lawful presence
The application fees are $1,000 for a tattoo establishment and $500 for a body piercing establishment, and no combined rate for a shop that offers both is stated here. Ask OSDH whether one application covers both services and what the total would be. Do not assume you can skip the $1,000 fee if you plan to tattoo at all.
Step 8: Pass the Pre-Licensing Inspection
Your establishment must pass a pre-licensing inspection before the license is issued. The inspector checks your facility against the rules in OAC 310:233. Read those rules line by line and walk through the space as an inspector would. Confirm equipment, cleaning, sharps disposal, handwashing and storage requirements in the rules, then check them with OSDH if anything is unclear.
Prepare the records as well as the room. Keep the artist certificates, apprentice records and your sanitation procedures in one binder. An inspector who can find everything quickly tends to spend less time on the floor, although the outcome still depends on what the inspector finds.
Step 9: Plan Ongoing Compliance and Temporary Events
Once licensed, your ongoing obligations include the LLC Annual Certificate ($25, due on your formation anniversary with a 60-day grace period), artist renewals (check with OSDH), and any sales tax filings your permit requires. If you plan to work at festivals, fairs or pop-up events, OSDH offers temporary event licenses: $50 for an artist and $500 for an establishment. Apply for these before the event, not on the day.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Publishing the notice before the address is final. A notice for the wrong address can cost you a second publication.
- Assuming a state business license covers you. Oklahoma has none in general. Your city may still require a license or zoning approval.
- Looking to the county for permits. Counties issue no business licenses. Only Oklahoma County and Tulsa County run zoning and building permits in unincorporated areas.
- Confusing the Trade Name Report with a county filing. A trade name is filed with the Secretary of State for $25.
- Missing the annual certificate. An LLC that misses the 60-day grace period stops being in good standing, and reinstatement means filing every delinquent certificate.
- Letting artist certificates lapse. Track expiration dates for bloodborne pathogen, first aid and CPR certificates for every artist.
- Treating an apprentice as a working artist. An apprentice is a student working toward a license through a sponsor, so confirm the scope of their work with OSDH.
- Signing a lease first. Confirm zoning and city licensing before you commit money to a space.
Tips for a Smoother Application
- Call the Secretary of State at 405-522-2520 to confirm current filing turnaround before you schedule your opening.
- Ask OSDH for written answers on the items marked “check with OSDH” in this article, including renewal fees, the skills exam fee and sponsor limits.
- Ask your city for written confirmation of zoning and licensing at your exact address.
- Ask a local Small Business Development Center advisor to review your checklist. The Oklahoma SBDC network offers free business advising in many regions.
- Check the SBA Oklahoma district page for lending and counseling resources if you need funding.
Expected Results and Realistic Timelines
A licensed studio may be able to offer services legally once every required approval is in hand. The timeline depends on several agencies working at their own pace, and no source can promise a specific opening date. Plan for the Secretary of State, OSDH, your city and the OTC to each take time, and build in a buffer before you book clients or sign vendor contracts.
On the service side, avoid promising outcomes. Tattoo results vary by skin type, placement, aftercare and the artist's technique, and some clients may experience irritation, infection or other reactions. The FDA regulates tattoo inks and pigments as cosmetics, so buy from suppliers who provide ingredient information and safety data sheets. Describe aftercare as something that may help clients heal well, not as a guarantee, and direct clients with health concerns to a medical professional.
When to Get Professional Help
Hire an attorney to review your operating agreement, lease and any partnership or investor arrangements. Hire a CPA to set up your sales tax, withholding and recordkeeping, especially if you plan to hire staff. Both can help you avoid expensive corrections later.
Official Resources
- Oklahoma Secretary of State, Business Filing Department: https://www.sos.ok.gov/business/default.aspx
- Oklahoma business search: https://www.sos.ok.gov/corp/corpInquiryFind.aspx
- Oklahoma Tax Commission: https://oklahoma.gov/tax.html
- OkTAP sales tax permit registration: https://oktap.tax.ok.gov/OkTAP/Web?link=BUSREG
- Oklahoma SBDC network: https://www.oksbdc.org/
- SBA Oklahoma district: https://www.sba.gov/district/oklahoma
For the OSDH application, licensing portal, renewal fees and exam details, check with the Oklahoma State Department of Health Consumer Health Service directly. Those figures are not stated here, so confirm them with the agency.
Disclaimer: This article is informational content, not legal or tax advice. Confirm current fees, forms and requirements with each agency before you file.
Keep exploring: related Oklahoma guides
- How to Start a Pet Grooming Business in Oklahoma
- How to Start an Esthetician or Lash Studio in Oklahoma
- How to Start a Personal Training Business in Oklahoma
- How to Start a Barbershop in Oklahoma
- How to Start an LLC in Oklahoma
- Oklahoma Business License
- Cost to Start a Business in Oklahoma
- All Oklahoma business types
- Every Oklahoma guide in one place